Stuff you just couldn’t make up!

I don’t have much to report to you on The Zach Project, we have received the draft copy of Zach’s EHCP which hours of work went into and wonder whether it is fit for purpose because it is totally aimed at Ambitious College….anyway I am going through it with a fine tooth comb while John is doing a comparison of costs to demonstrate that the The Zach Project is financially viable.

In the meantime last Wednesday Zach bit my mobile phone. The screen shattered and the camera lens, I imagined it would be easy enough to fix!

I found a place nearby and was told that it needed a new screen and also a whole back as the camera lens is incorporated in that, making the cost £100. The nice chap in the shop said he would get the parts in and it would be a few days.

On Easter Monday Zach bit his ipad and the screen shattered into lots of pieces.  We have tried just about every robust case on the market and have yet to find one that is totally Zach proof. I have a large box in the loft which is full of cases which have not been up to the job, I could probably open my own shop selling ipad cases which are tough, just not that tough!

Zach’s latest ipad and we have had a few, is an ipad air 2 which before this morning I didn’t realise is not straight forward to replace the screen on making it rather expensive. The ipad was purchased last October so is not quite 6 months old.

Apparently the cost of a new screen is £200! and the shop would need to get a screen in as they don’t stock them. Zach is on Easter holiday and I was grasped by panic when I was told it would take a few days! Zach’s ipad is an integral part of his down time at home.

The chap in the shop said he would buy the ipad air 2 from me, he would give me £100, the cost of my replacement screen and back of my mobile phone, which he is still struggling to locate parts for.

Put on the spot and with Zach being on holiday I decided to go to John Lewis and buy a bog standard ipad air (which the cost of replacing the screen is just £50)

The bog standard ipad air was £379. When I got home from John Lewis I checked our home insurance policy to find that our excess is £150 as I was still struggling with selling the ipad air 2 which cost £479 for £100! However as I said it was going to cost £200 to fix, sorry if your head is reeling with all these figures.

Despite having at least 4 brand new cases in the loft, not one of them fitted!

I cobbled together one of the old armor-x cases (which cost £60) and had to pad it out with bubble wrap to accommodate the ‘air’ aspect and Zach was very pleased to see it when he came in however…….

In the last 6 months we have purchased

1 ipad mini (for Zach to use at home as a communication aid) @ £219

An Armor-x case for the ipad mini @ £60

The Armor-x case screen protector was not sensitive enough so

A Griffin protector case at £52.00

An ipad air 2 @ £479

An Armor-x case @ £67

The Armor-x case then ripped so

2 x Otterbox defender @ £92

1 x Beetle defender @ £18.70

Repair to my Samsung mobile @ £100

An ipad air @ £399

and I just had to order a new case for the ipad air at £49

Bringing us to a grand total of £1535.70

It is a well known fact that bringing up a child/young person with Autism or another disability costs 3 times the amount it costs to bring up a mainstream child/young person and I am pretty sure these figures were calculated before the advent of ipads and mobile phones.

And so that is another nail in the coffin of my extension, I almost hope that John doesn’t read this as it will be at least another two nails in that coffin if he does!

I am hoping that in my next post there will be no more Apple/Samsung related stories and I will have more news of The Zach project for you 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

